Union Carbide Employees' Union, Tamilnadu.

The Union was formed in 1956, with affiliation to AITUC. In 1967, a parallel minority INTUC Union was formed. Because of non-recognition by the management their function was only to criticise the AITUC. The LPF union was formed in 1969, which really became the parallel union, because DMK was in power in Tamilnadu and many of the INTUC members also joined its ranks, still the AITUC name was powerful. Because of the low wages to workers given by the powerful multinational Company, a charter of demands for improved wage structure and other facilities was placed.

However an agreement very much below the satisfaction of the workers had to be signed because of the disunity among the workers and the disruptive tactics of parallel unions. When this agreement expired in 1969, the AITUC union put forth a proposal for a single union in the company and tried to get the workers for it, which was objected by the INTUC and LPF leaders.

However in 1970, disregarding the leaders, a "nine member Committee" was formed to form a new union representing all workers and the same was registered and thus came an end for the AITUC affiliation from that date. The union is now the sole representative of all workers with a concept of "**One Union - One Industry**" from 1970 till date.

Agitations and Agreements:

- 1. The newly formed Union's first achievement was a new satisfactory wage agreement with different benefits and the confirmation of 270 casual workers who were working for more than five years.
- 2. In 1973, a strange strike was organised by the union on April 28th to protest against the charge sheet issued to the union committee workers. On April 30th Police entered the Company premises, evicted all the workers and the Company declared a lockout. The lockout lifted on 30th August, with dismissal of seven workers and issued charge sheet for pending enquiry for 25 workers.

Ultimately all these victimisations were thrown out including the dismissal of three workers through legal process in 1990.

The Union's Silver Jubilee Celebrations were held in 1980 under the Presidentship of V.P. Chintan, taking the formation of the AITUC union in 1956 as the origin.

From 1956 – 2001, the union presidents were always been from the Communist Party.

List of office-bearers:

Year	President	General Secretary	Treasurer
1956 – 57	Mohan Kumaramangalam	P.J. Seetharaman	Ponnurangam
1958 – 62	S. Krishnamoorthy	V. Gnanasikamani	G. Perumal
1963 – 67	K.S. Janakiraman	V. Gnanasikamani	V.S. Radhakrishnan
1967 – 78	R. Kuchelar	S.F. Asirvadham	M.V. Krishnan
* 1978 – 79	K.S. Narayanan	T.R. Narasimhan	N. Mani
1979 – 85	V.P. Chinthan	M.V. Krishnan G. Vasudevan	Ranganathan
1985 – 90	W.R. Varadharajan	C.H. Sridharan	R. Balaraman
* 1990 – 91	C.S.S. Shetty	C.H. Sridharan	K.K. Verghese
1991 – 98	W.R. Varadharajan	C.H. Sridharan	R. Balaraman
* 1998- 99	G. Vasudevan	C.H. Sridharan	P. Devadoss
1999 – 2001	T.N. Nambirajan	M.V. Krishnan	K.K. Verghese

Vice-Presidents:

- 1971 – 74 : Mythili Sivaraman

- 1974 – 82 : K.M. Hari Bhat

- 1982 – 84 : W.R. Varadharajan

- 1989 – 99 : M.V. Krishnan

Note:

- It is notable that except for three years for the past forty-three years till date the leaders have been from Communist Party.
- G. Vasudevan, who was working with the rivalry union (LPF) merged it with this union and was serving as the General Secretary for nine years and President for one year for the unified union. Especially it was the first time that a worker had become the President of the Union.
- There is only one union for Chennai, Tollgate and three factories in Guindy industrial estate and in the All India level the union has been functioning as a federation.