Enfield Employees Union – 1958 to 1984

In a situation, where it was not possible to think of starting a Trade Union in the company, six conscious comrades started a literary society, which was best utilised scrumptiously, to contact workers and seek their support to form a Trade Union. In those difficult days, Dr. Krishnaswamy of Thiruvottiyur and one Munusamy, a Tea shop Owner extended their support.

When the Union was formally formed on 28-3-1958, with Sri. K.S. Janaki Raman as President and Sri. P. Narayanan, an employee as General Secretary, the management swung into action by sponsoring an alternative Union called Staff Workers' Union. This Union was recognised and even an agreement was signed with it. During this time, with the assistance of professional consultants, the management conducted, a time study and job evaluation, and arbitarily fixed wages for eight different group of employees. The puppet union, with the active support of the management, got the approval of majority of workers and signed the agreement.

Under this circumstances, the management organised a function, with the state labour minister R. Venkataraman, as Chief Guest, in the guise of getting Government loan, wherein they tried project the puppet Union as the majority one. Somehow the employees' Union leaders managed to meet R. Venkataraman and gave him the details of how the union cadres were targeted in several ways of inductive and punitive actions. Thereupon Sri. R Venkataraman left the meeting telling that he would attend such functions, only when both the unions merged and invited him together.

Then there was a merger move and both the Unions were merged after a referendum among the workers and the concept of "one union – one industry" prevails in the companies till date and Sri. S.C.C. Anthony Pillai was the first President of the union.

Agitations, Agreements and Achievements:

- 1. Immediately after the merger an incentive scheme was agreed upon.
- 2. DA linking with the cost of living index was done in 1966 and planned bonus was introduced from then.
- 3. Accusing the workers of "dodging", the Management declared a lockout on 24th November 1967. In spite of the law and order of the Tamilnadu Government, agitations continued with the workers facing Police actions also. Ultimately the Chief Minister of Tamilnadu Sri. C.N, Annadurai, intervened and the Government, declared the lockout as illegal and it had to be lifted.
- 4. But not taking the above development in the proper sense, the management resorted victimising and strong arm methods in the name of discipline, which led to strike in the company. Ultimately the management had to come down and give up their vindictive approach.
- 5. In 1969-70, an agreement on housing scheme was signed.

- 6. Another agreement was signed in 70s when Tamilnadu was reeling under rice scarcity, through which the management agreed to arrange for rice supply to workers without interruption.
- 7. In 1976-77, the company attempted to retrench 400 workers in the name of "deviation" was started.
- 8. In spite of the 12(3) settlement for bonus in 1973-74, the management approached the labour court, where also the union won the case.
- 9. Again in 1977, the company declared a lockout on the grounds of financial difficulties. The union took the initiative to get the financial assistance through Indian Finance Corporation, by which new machines were purchased and as a result, the production target became twice in the next year.
- 10. In 1977-78, DA was merged with basic pay, with a new DA @ Rs.1.50 per point in the new serial.

* * *

List of office bearers – ENFIELD

Year	President	Vice-Presidents	General Secretary	Joint Secretaries	Treasurer
1958 – 59	K.S. Janakiraman	S. Krishnamurthy K. Subramaniam	P. Narayanan	T. Murugesan	C. Ramalingam
1959 – 60	S.C.C. Anthony Pillai	K.N. Shenoy P. Narayanan	K. Subramaniam	M.A. Franklin A.R. Indirapathy	C. Kumarasamy
1960 – 61	S.C.C. Anthony Pillai	K.N. Shenoy, R. Anandan	A.R. Indirapathy	D. Selvaraj Mahendranath Siva	C. Kumarasamy
1961 – 62	S. Krishnamurthy	K.S. Janakiraman B.V. Subramanian	P. Narayanan	D. Balasundaram V. Ganapathy Iyer	K. Gurumoorthy
1962 – 63	Mohan Kumaramangalam	K.S. Janakiraman S. Krishnan	A.K. Samy	K. Gurumoorthy, Sadagoparamanujam	V. Umapathy
1963 - 64	S.Raghavanandam	M.V. Narayanasamy Sadagoparamanujam	A.K. Samy	D. Balasundaram, D. Selvaraj	D. Raju
1964 – 65	S.Raghavanandam	M.V. Narayanasamy K.P. Sridharan	K. Gurumoorthy	V. Lakshmanan, S. Sundararaman	T.E. Sivaraman
1965 – 66	K.M. Sundaram	T.P. Velayudham K.P. Sridharan	K. Gurumoorthy	V. Lakshmanan, T. Raghavan	T.E. Sivaraman

Year	President	Vice-Presidents	General Secretary	Joint Secretaries	Treasurer
1966 – 67	K.M. Sundaram	G. Desappan, K.P. Sridharan	K. Gurumoorthy	T. Ragavan, V. Lakshmanan	T.E. Sivaraman
1967 – 68	K.M. Sundaram	G. Desappan R. Ramadoss	K. Gurumoorthy	D. Sachidanandam M. Mohan	K. Shanmugam
1968 – 69	S. Ragavanandam	M.V. Narayanasamy D. Krishnan	V. Lakshmanan	M. Paramasivam, M.R. Nithyanandam	K. Shanmugam
1969 – 70	S. Ragavanandam	M.V. Narayanasamy D. Krishnan	S. Ganesan	M. Paramasivam, M.R. Nithyanandam	K. Shanmugam
1970 – 71 1971 – 72	S.M. Narayanan	K. Kuppusamy R. Krishnamoorthy	D. Subramanian	K. Chandrasekaran Duraikannu	M.S. Thangaraj
1972 – 73	S.M. Narayanan	K. Kuppusamy DJ.Prabhakar Rainer	V. Lakshmanan	K. Chandrasekaran M. Mohan	A. Manuvel Manickam
1973 – 74	S.M. Narayanan	K. Kuppusamy K. Chandrasekaran	V. Lakshmanan	Sundararaman E. Ramachandralal	M.S. Thangaraj
1974 - 75	S.M. Narayanan	T.P. Elumalai N. Sankaran	V. Lakshmanan	A.L. Raju E. Ramachanralal	A. Subramani

Year	President	Vice-Presidents	General Secretary	Joint Secretaries	Treasurer
1975 - 76	S.M. Narayanan	T.P. Elumalai A.L. Raju	V. Lakshmanan	S.K. Gopal M.S. Thangaraj	Devasahayam
1976 - 77	K.T.K. Thangamani	A.M. Gopu, S. Saibaba	Dhanraj	Rangachari Bhavanandam	A. Manuvel Manickam
1977 - 78	K.S. Narayanan	R. Srinivasan, A.L. Raju	V. Lakshmanan	K. Chandrasekaran K. Akkappan	T.K.E. Rangarajan
1978 - 79	K.S. Narayanan	S.M. Narayanan, A.L. Raju	V. Lakshmanan	V. Nagabhosanam Srinivasan	A. Kannan
1979 - 80 1980 – 81	K.S. Narayanan	A.L. Raju	V. Lakshmanan	V. Muthu K. Chandrasekaran	K. Kasi
1981 - 82	K.M. Sundaram	K.P. Sridharan	V. Lakshmanan	K. Durairaj V. Karuppaiah	K. Kasi
1982 – 83	K.M. Sundaram	K.P. Sridharan	N.Kothandaraman	Samikannu V. Karuppaiah	K. Kasi
1983 – 84	K.M. Sundaram	K.P. Sridharan	N.Kothandaraman	Samikannu V, Karuppaiah	Rajagopal